Good news from Christopher Breen:
To do so, travel to Facebook’s Delete Account page. You’ll be required to log into your account with your username and password. Once you have, choose the option to delete your account. You’ll be required to enter your password once again as well as enter some captcha text.
What’s the difference between delete and deactivate?
When you delete it, Facebook no longer uses the content it held and you can’t recover it (Facebook suggest that you download your information before deleting an account). When you deactivate an account your timeline and associated information disappears but it’s not gone. Rather, it’s in a state of suspended animation. You can later return and reactivate it by logging on with your associated email address and password.