AP found that Google keeps tracking users even when location tracking is turned off on Android and iPhones. Liam Tung gives details on Google’s response.
You can turn off Location History at any time. With Location History off, the places you go are no longer stored.
Except that wasn’t really true because location data was captured on Maps.
Some location data may be saved as part of your activity on other services, like Search and Maps. When you turn off Location History for your Google Account, it’s off for all devices associated with that Google Account
Google tracks users going from site to site, and from within specific applications, with Google Analytics,